My vicarious travel blog was inspired by The Well Read book club at its first meeting on 16 July 2010 at Chefs in Motion, Johannesburg. What fun! Who knew a group of women could yak on about books – okay, I hear you – who doesn’t!! However, the conversation is what lead me to wish for more…a journey, an escape, an adventure. But circumstance prevents the universe from granting my wish (sadly, no genie here). A little creative thinking, a glorious book and wallah – if it cannot be achieved in reality, well then, there’s always another way. So, today I begin my literary travels, vicariously of course.

My motto…If I can read it, I can imagine it, and if I can imagine it, I can believe it. And finally, if I cannot read it – I’ll just have to write it!

And so, I head to the island of Guernsey, with a copy of  The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society (Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows) as my guide.

Please send your advice on what to pack…or even better: post your comments about the book or about Guernsey. That’s sure to keep me company until my travel dream comes true.

